Mail:      PO Box 7395
      Hutt Street SA 5000
Office:   Level 1
  33 Hutt Street
  Adelaide SA 5000
  By Appointment
Phone: +61 8 8359 3334

The Board 

The Board consists of 8 members appointed by the Governor, of whom 6 are nominated by the Minister, one is nominated by the Australian Veterinary Association Ltd (SA Division), and one is nominated by Council of the University of Adelaide. Of the 6 Ministerial nominations, one is a legal practitioner, 4 are veterinary surgeons and 2 are laypersons.

The role of the Board

The role of the Board is to regulate the veterinary profession, and ensure high standards of professional service are provided to the public and SA community. 


The Registrar keeps 3 Registers. 

  1. Register of Veterinary Surgeons
  2. Register of Veterinary Specialists
  3. Register of persons removed from the general or specialist Register

Copies of the Registers are available to purchase (printed copy or electronic version), or for inspection.  You should contact the Office of the Registrar to discuss your requirements.


The Board is required to keep lists of

  1. Veterinary Services Providers (non-vets providing veterinary services through a registered veterinary surgeon - for example corporate entities etc)
  2. Prescribed Business Interests of veterinary surgeons (a list of veterinary surgeons with a business interest in particular veterinary products or services)
  3. Accredited Veterinary Hospitals

These listings are available for inspection. 

Board membership

If you are a registered veterinary surgeon and are interested in the work of the Board, you may like to express your interest in being appointed as a Member or Deputy Member. 

If so, please complete the form

Expression of Interest -  VSBSA member form 021213.pdf

and return it with your CV to the Registrar.

Contact Officer for the Veterinary Surgeons Board of SA:
Ms Carol Irvine
PO Box 7395
Hutt Street
Ph: 08 8331 9433
Fax: 08 8364 4688